Our Wedding Day

Already a month has gone by since Sammy and I got married. From everything we’ve been told, we should feel different and somehow changed. I guess we’re still waiting to feel as if we’ve begun something different than what we initially started almost 6 years ago. The truth is, not much has changed and for us that means a lot.

The wedding was incredible. Our friends and family came together to form new bonds and share in a moment that we built with our own two hands. Often times people dread weddings as they go through the motions of such a societal obligation, but Sammy and I didn’t want that. We figured that if we were going to spend money on a one-day event, regardless of how incredibly meaningful it would be, then it had to mean something more: it had to be as much about us as it would be about our guests and to top it off, it had to be built by us and the ones we love. If nothing else, I think we did a good job at accomplishing that.

As we look back, the memories of that weekend are still with us. The next day, we fought the feeling of sadness as our friends boarded planes, hopped on trains, and drove away to far off places. We too journeyed back to the city and away from our families. But before we did, I slipped away from the quiet of Sammy’s well-earned slumber and strolled the beach as the sun came up.

I took in the scene the same way I did when I was 5 years old on the very same shoreline, only this time with the sailcloth tent in the distance, I saw this place for what it has truly become for my family, my wife and me over the years. To marry the love of my life in a place that has held so many memories for us meant a lot. To do it on our own terms and with our own creativity, meant something even greater.  We are both glad to have shared it with all of you.

Leave a Reply

