Remembering Autumn

Autumn in California is not exactly what I envision when I think of fall. I grew up in New England, which is the archetypal setting for bright yellows, reds and oranges. The smell of burning wood and morning coffee was something I expected and came to love. The imagery and experiences of autumn put an indelible stamp on my psyche and gave me a sense of seasonal yearning that continues to this day. But autumn in Southern California is different. Here palm trees sway with the Santa Ana winds while joggers pass by in shorts. Heat waves that skipped us all summer long now rear their heads into football season. Sunshine and cloudless skies make most of us forget about fall, but not me. I need my fix.

That fix almost always comes in the vicinity of Mammoth Lakes. Temperatures drop by at least 20 degrees and the leaves change early enough to contrast the pine-covered mountains above. That’s what I look forward to. That’s what gets me to answer Ben’s call to go fishing on the San Joaquin with just a few days notice. 50 pounds of gear, a couple of friends and a full gas tank is all it took for me to taste the season I love most of all.
The Minarets, Ritter Range, Sierra Nevada Mountains

Scenic byway 395, Eastern Sierra

The San Joaquin River, Devils Postpile, CA

Aaron (me) about to trek the river…

… with Ben

and Anuar

Owens River Valley
Sunset on the The Upper Owens River
The Upper Owens River
San Joaquin River
 Sunset over the Owens. Incredible.
2 comments

  1. Up-Routed · October 8, 2010

    Follow my blog and enjoy our journeys!

  2. Ed Coyle · February 25, 2011

    I love it. And I love you. Amazing photography my wee little man.

Leave a Reply

